Categories
Food & Nutrition

Trader Joe’s Pork Shu Mai

This is my dinner tonight. Ignore the fact that I was just looking at an Instagram post of two coworkers eating gourmet food in Seoul, and thinking how sad my life is. I do not have a steamer, so I was using my fancy rice cooker, which has a steam mode.

I believe the instructions on the box were not geared towards a rice cooker because it said to steam for twelve minutes. I loaded up the rice cooker with water and put the frozen shu mai into the food plate. Just to be safe, I set the timer for fifteen minutes. Well, after fifteen minutes, the rice cooker shut off, and the shu mai were still slightly frozen. Not cold, but frozen. I restarted the rice cooker for another twenty minutes and I am patiently waiting.

==========

I was asked by my coworkers if I wanted to join them on their trip to Korea. One coworker went for a wedding, and the other visited Japan first. I originally thought I was going to Taiwan during Christmas for a wedding, but that fell through. Now my highlight for the holidays will be nine days of dog sitting as my sister’s family visits the in-laws.

Leave a comment