Categories
Food & Nutrition

Pineapple Cake

Or 鳳梨酥 in Chinese, is a Taiwanese pastry and dessert. It it my favorite Taiwanese food item for sure. I usually ask people traveling to Los Angeles from Taiwan to bring some. The last time I was in Taiwan, I went to the main store for ChiaTe and bought four big boxes to bring back with me.

I was just texting with a coworker. He is visiting Hong Kong and currently transiting in Taoyuan airport. I asked him to bring some pineapple cake on his return trip. Everyone has their own favorite brand, but I asked him to bring some from Sunny Hill. In the US, I can get it online, but it is super expensive.

This is on Weee! for $2.60 each piece. They also have pineapple cake from ChiaTe but it is a third party seller so the price is even crazier.

The cakes from good brands have very short “best by” dates. When I brought four boxes back from Taiwan, I had to hand them out quickly before everything expired. I see cheap pineapple cakes at the local Asian market, but they must have been shipped here on ocean containers and likely contain a lot of preservatives. It is still a delicacy when I can get fresh pineapple cake from a good brand from Taiwan.

Leave a comment