Categories
Food & Nutrition Medication

Tyramine?

I have not been feeling well since last night. It was not something specific like a fever or headache, but a general sense of not being well. Obviously, my ankle/foot is busted, but I just felt sluggish and unsettled. Sometimes it feels like I am on the verge of having a panic attack. There is definitely a mental issue that I am and still need to deal with. but this feels like something physical.

Since I only have a few diagnostic tools, I just checked my blood sugar (normal) and my blood pressure. I am using a wrist meter, and the reading came back as 220/120. Needless to say, that is a crazy high number. However, like my creatinine number, it has been fairly stable for weeks. When I went for the creatinine retest, I measured a 116/70 at Quest. This is normal for everyone and a bit low for me.

I read up online on reasons for sudden blood pressure rise and near the top of the list was tyramine. This is an amino acid that regulates blood pressure but is found in aged cheeses like parmesan. There were other reasons, but nothing was really relevant. I did see my SIL put in a lot of grated parmesan in the dinner dish last night, and I ate a Caesar’s salad today with what seemed like a large quantity of parmesan as well. I took an extra Metoprolol pill and will stay away from cheese for dinner to see if my blood pressure drops.

Leave a comment