Categories
Health & Wellness

Ankle Update 20240317

I have good news and bad news.

The good news is that I do not have a cast anymore. My orthopedic surgeon agreed to switch me to a boot instead of giving me another cast. This means I can take it off to sleep or to take a shower. I took a shower yesterday, the first one in almost three months. Since we have a shower chair in the house, I used it to be extra safe.

The bad news is I am no allowed to put weight on my foot yet. The surgeon said the X-rays look good, but he wants to be 100% sure. There is too much metal in my ankle so he ordered a CT scan of my ankle to make sure it is fully healed. My next appointment is April 1st so I will still be using crutches until then.

I did take the boot off to try driving. Even though I cannot move my ankle, the remaining flexibility in my foot allowed me to drive easily. It is definitely easier than using my left foot to drive. Also, since the boot is much larger than a cast, there is a lot less room in the car footwell if I keep the boot on while driving.

As for physical therapy, I will find out more after I am approved to put weight on my right foot. My lower right leg is definitely a lot thinner than my left leg. I also scrubbed my leg and put on a lot of lotion to try and get rid of the dry skin.

Leave a comment