Categories
Food & Nutrition Work & Finance

Work Reunion Dinner

I went to a dinner last night at Honda-ya in Tustin. The group consisted of current coworkers and ex-coworkers. It is not really a reunion where people have not see each other in many years since four of us still work at the same company. Out of the six other people, three have worked for me in the past, and I have mentored two others outside of a direct-report relationship. After I retire, I will probably only keep in contact with this group, plus a hnadful more.

Honda-ya is a pretty good izakaya in Old Town Tustin. They do not take reservations so we got there before 5:00 pm to put our name down. We did get seated after a few minutes and stayed for about two hours. I said I would pay the bill and it came out to about $300 for seven people. The past time I did this, we only have four of us and the bill was almost $400. It was a lot of fun just to catch-up since I have been out of the office for almost three months.

I also tried a piece of sashimi. I had a bad experience many years ago when I threw up a piece of fresh tuna. It is not in the photo, but I had a piece of yellowtail belly. All I tased was the soy sauce. I also did not like the texture since it was kind of fatty. I could feel my gag reflex coming so I quickly swallow it and washed it down with lots of water. Oh well.

Leave a comment